Councillors Banner Councillors
Default text size Large text size Extra large text size High contrast text

Home : Corporate Services : Corporate Services : Council Meetings : Kildare County Council Meetings : 2010 : Minutes

Print this Document

Minutes of Monthly Meeting
held at 2.00 p.m. on Monday, 31 May 2010 at
Áras Chill Dara, Devoy Park, Naas, Co Kildare

Members Present: Councillor C Purcell (Mayor); Councillors F Browne, K Byrne,
W Callaghan, R Daly, L Doyle, S Doyle, M Heydon, P Kennedy, P Kelly, S Langan, A Lawlor, P MacNamara, P McEvoy, J McGinley, S Moore,
M Miley, C Murphy, M Nolan, D. Scully, M Wall and B Weld.

Apologies:  Councillors S Griffin, T O’Donnell and F O’Loughlin.

Also Present: Mr M Malone, County Manager, Messrs J Boland, J Lahart, P Minnock and E O’Sullivan (Director of Services), B Sweeney (Acting Head of Finance), A Aspell (Meetings Administrator) and other officials.


Votes of Sympathy

The Mayor extended his sympathy to Councillor Griffin and his family on the death of his wife Mary and also to the family of the late Mr Joe Slicker, General Operative, Kildare Area Office.  The members and the Manager joined the Mayor in expressing their sympathy to Councillor Griffin and his family on the death of his wife Mary, and also offered their condolences to the family of the late Joe Slicker and also to the Mayor on the recent death of his brother Eamonn.

The Mayor thanked the members and the Manager for their kind words.  He noted that a number of members and staff in the Council had suffered the loss of family members over recent months and added that consideration was currently being given to construction of a memorial garden within the grounds of Áras Chill Dara.

The Mayor adjourned the meeting for five minutes as a mark of respect.

Confirmation of Minutes

The council considered the minutes of the monthly meeting held on 26 April 2010, together with the progress report.
Resolved on the proposal of Councillor Nolan, seconded by Councillor Heydon, that the minutes of the monthly meeting held on 26 April 2010 be confirmed and taken as read.

Committee Minutes

The Council considered the committee minutes which had been circulated with the agenda.

Athy Area – 15 March 2010
Celbridge Area – 29 March 2010 and 16 April 2010
Kildare Area – 24 March 2010 and 21 April 2010
Naas Area – 16 March 2010 and 27 April 2010
Clane Area – 13 April 2010.

Resolved on the proposal of Councillor Weld, seconded by Councillor Langan, that the minutes be noted.

Disposal of Land

The members considered the disposal of the following lands:
(a) Plot adjoining No. 8 Rockbridge, Ballymakealy, Celbridge
(b) ESB substation at Leixlip Wastewater Treatment Plant, Leixlip
(c) Leasing of unsold affordable houses to Helm Housing

Following a short discussion it was agreed that this item would be postponed for further consideration at the next meeting of the Council on 14 June 2010.  In the interim Mr Minnock agreed to circulate a note to the members setting out some additional background information in relation to the leasing of unsold affordable houses to Helm Housing.

Overdraft Accommodation

Resolved on the proposal of Councillor L Doyle, seconded by Councillor Murphy, that sanction be sought for an overdraft accommodation in the sum of €5 million for the six months ending 31 December 2010, as recommended.

Fix Date for Annual Meeting

The members agreed to hold the annual meeting on Friday, 25 June 2010 at 2.00 p.m.

At this stage, it was agreed that the members would reconvene on Monday, 14 June 2010 at 2.00 p.m. to deal with the remaining items on the agenda and the meeting was adjourned.