Councillors Banner Councillors
Default text size Large text size Extra large text size High contrast text

Home : Corporate Services : Corporate Services : Council Meetings : Kildare County Council Meetings : 2011 : Minutes

Print this Document


Minutes of Annual General Meeting of the Council

held at 2.00 p.m. on Friday, 24 June 2011 at

Áras Chill Dara, Devoy Park, Naas, Co Kildare

Members Present: Councillor B. Weld, (Outgoing Mayor); Councillors F Brett, F Browne, K Byrne, R Daly, S. Doyle, L Doyle, S Griffin, I Keatley, P Kennedy,  S Langan, A Larkin,, P McEvoy, J McGinley, S Moore, M Miley,  M Nolan, T O’Donnell, F. O’ Rourke, C Purcell, P McNamara and M Wall.

Apologies: Councillors W. Callaghan F O’ Loughlin and D Scully

Also Present: Mr M Malone, County Manager, A Aspell (Meetings Administrator) and other officials.



Election of Mayor

Councillor Weld thanked his wife and family for their help and support during the last twelve months, he thanked Councillor Griffin and the Fine Gael party for the honour of the nomination and their help. He also thanked the Labour party, the Independents and the Fianna Fail party. He thanked the Manager and staff and stated that we all worked for the good of the county, and for the common good of the people. He reflected on the highlights of his year as Mayor including the trip to Lexington, the visits of the Queen of England, the Dalai Lama and also the recent Maynooth twinning trip to Canet-en-Roussillon. The Manager, on behalf of management and staff, thanked the Mayor for his fair and professional dealings especially in dealing with the County Development Plan. The members commended the Mayor for carrying out an excellent job and made special reference to his fairness, equity and enthusiasm in carrying out his functions for the year.

The Mayor invited nominations for the post of Mayor for the coming year. Councillor Griffin nominated Councillor Nolan and this was seconded by Councillor O’ Donnell. As there were no other nominations Councillor Nolan was deemed elected and took the chair


Election of Deputy Mayor

The Mayor invited nominations for the post of Deputy Mayor for the coming year. Councillor Weld nominated Councillor Griffin for the position of Deputy Mayor and this was seconded by Councillor Keatley. As there were no other nominations, Councillor Griffin was deemed elected to the post of Deputy Mayor. The Mayor and members congratulated Councillor Griffin on his election as Deputy Mayor for the county. Councillor Griffin thanked the members for their support.


This concluded the annual meeting.