Press Releases/Adverts Banner Press Releases
and Adverts

Default text size Large text size Extra large text size High contrast text

Home : Press Releases/Adverts : Press Releases/Adverts 2015 : October

Press Release- Pride of Place and Tidy Towns Awards 2015

Pride of Place and Tidy Towns Awards 2015


Prize-winners gathered at Maynooth University this evening (28.10.15) to reap the fruits of their work in the County Kildare Pride of Place and Tidy Towns competitions. Kildare County Council hosted a prize-giving ceremony for the winners who included young people, gardeners, residents associations and Tidy Towns committees from across the county.

The Mayor of Kildare, Councillor Brendan Weld presented the prizes. He thanked the groups and individual citizens who had taken part for their work and achievements in their neighbourhoods.

This is the twenty-first year of the competition for tidy local authority housing estates. Prizes were awarded for voluntary work, community involvement and environmental impact. This year there were 38 entries representing over 50 estates, 11 prizes were presented in this category.  8 prizes were awarded in the Best-Kept-Garden competition.

This is the thirteenth year of the county council’s special awards scheme for young people who make an outstanding contribution to community life.

A Special Award was also presented to Solas Bhride, Kildare town who are our National Pride of Place entry for 2015.  We wish them all the best at the national award ceremony on the 14th November in Ennis Co. Clare.

Kildare’s Tidy Towns groups were also recognised on the night for their ongoing work. A total of 39 towns and villages entered the competition this year and it has resulted in the best overall result for Kildare in the competition. A total of two gold, six silver and one bronze medal were previously awarded at the national Tidy Towns awards and these towns received a certificate to acknowledge this achievement.

All of the participating towns in the Tidy Towns competition receive a grant from the council. The groups were thanked by the Mayor for their valuable work and encouraged to continue their efforts to improve the local environment.


Full list of prize-winners:

Pride of Place

Best Kept Gardens

Youth Endeavour Award

Tidy Towns General Awards

Tidy Towns Kildare Merit Awards


Pride of Place results 2015

Category 1 (1-20 Houses)

Runner up:   Millrace Lawns Broadford

Winner:          Millview Milltown

Category 2 (21-40 Houses)

Runner up:   Chorrchoill Park Prosperous

Winner:          Wheatfield Ardclough

Category 3 (41-60 Houses)

Runner up:   St. Brigid’s tce Sallins

Winner:          Park View Clane

Category 4 (61 – 85 houses)

Runner up:   Coarsemoor, Lodge Park & St. Brigid’s Tce,  Straffan 

Winner:          St. Patrick’s Park Kill

Category 5 (86 + houses)

3rd Place:       St. Mary’s Park Leixlip

2nd place:       St. Evin’s park Monasterevin

Winner:          Avondale Leixlip


Community Development Category 2

2nd Place:       Ottomy, Clane

Winner:          Moatview/Newline Grove Kilmead

Community Development Category

3rd Place:       Bishopsland Kildare

2nd place        Ballymakealy Celbridge

Winner:           Ashgrove Derrinturn


Highly Commended for their work with young people: Rosconnell, Newbridge

Best Newcomer: William Pearse Terrace, Castledermot

Most improved: St. Patrick’s Park, Celbridge

Commended:  Fr. Murphy Place in Naas


Best Kept Gardens 2015

Kathy Craig St. Brigid’s Terrace, Straffan

Andy Birchall 2233 St. Patrick’s Park, Kill

Ina Kavanagh 1516 William Pearse Terrace, Castledermot

Liz Broughal 531 St. Patrick’s Park, Rathangan

Catherine Ward 6 Anne Street, Prosperous

Pauline Fitzgerald 4 Ballymakealy Grove, Celbridge

Overall winner

John Dillon 1938 St. Dominic’s Park, Newbridge


Highly Commended Communal Gardens

St. Marys Park communal garden, Leixlip (Jamie Carpenter 696)

Ottomy memorial garden, Clane (Sean Ussher 20)


Youth Endeavour Award 2015

Dan Donovan, Coarsemoor, Straffan

Charlotte O'Mahony, Anne Street, Prosperous

Malik Bello, The Close, Rosconnell, Newbridge

Kian O'Neill Curtis, Moate View, Kilmead, Athy

Nathan Mackey, Churchview, Kilmeague, Naas

Michelle Brogan, Wheatfield Upper, Ardclough, Straffan

Abbie Gill, Ashgrove, Derrinturn,  Carbury

Jamie Martin, St. Evin's Park, Monasterevin

Nathan Swaine, Millview, Ballytore

Craig Enright, Dunmurry Rise, Kildare town


Tidy Towns winners 2015

Bronze medal winners

  • Clane

Silver medal winners

  • Celbridge
  • Kill
  • Leixlip
  • Maynooth
  • Newbridge
  • Rathangan

Gold medal winners

  • Naas
  • Straffan

(Note: medals are awarded to towns that get within a certain number of points of the overall national winner, in 2015, this is Letterkenny)


Endeavour award for Kildare (for greatest improvement in marks from the previous year)

  • Kilmeague


Special Awards

Supervalu Tidy Towns Heroes (individuals nominated by their committees for outstanding contributions)

  • Agatha McGarr, Naas Tidy Towns
  • Marian Cawley, Maynooth Tidy Towns

Value Water Awards (for water conservation measures, sponsored by Irish Water)

  • Maynooth (Best large town)

Tree Project Awards (sponsored by the Tree Council of Ireland)

  • Newbridge


Kildare Tidy Towns Merit Awards for outstanding contributions to the work of the local Tidy Towns

  • Janet Carr                                       Kill Tidy Towns
  • Conor Barrett                                  Leixlip Tidy Towns
  • Laura Monaghan                             Maynooth Tidy towns
  • Nicola Fitzsimons                             Maynooth Tidy towns
  • Sarah Heaslip                                  Maynooth Tidy towns
  • Emma Dunne                                   Maynooth Tidy towns
  • Pat Balfe (on behalf of  Monasterevin Youth Action)

                                                                  Monasterevin Tidy Towns

  • Elizabeth Birch                                 Rathangan Tidy Towns
  • Harry Pender                                   Sallins Tidy Towns


End                                                                                                     29th October 2015

Back to other News Items