Road Safety Banner Road Safety,
Cycling and
Default text size Large text size Extra large text size High contrast text

Home : Roads and Transportation : Road Safety, Cycling and Sustainable Transport : Road Safety : Education : School Programmes : Junior School Wardens

There were almost 150 students from just three schools taking part in the Junior School Warden Scheme in County Kildare.

Derrinturn:            St. Conleth’s National School
Milltown:               Scoil Bhride National School
Monasterevin:       St. Peter’s National School 

This scheme is supported, monitored and funded by Kildare County Council’s Road Safety department. The role of the Junior School Warden is to ensure the safe crossing of fellow students, and this is a highly responsible role, and requires the student wardens to be alert and attentive at all times. There are usually five teams of six for each school.

Each Patrol consists of 1 Patrol Leader and Marhall, 2 Sign Wardens, 2 Assistant Wardens and 1 Assistant Patrol Leader & Marshall. Every one of these wardens has a responsible role to play within their patrols and to their fellow students, and without the support and involvement of the schools, this essential servcie could not operate. 

At the end of each school year, the road safety officer visits each participating school and presents the Junior wardens with their certificate and medals as recognition of their involvement in this scheme.