Click on the names for more information
The ruins of Belan House are situated in the vicinity of
Moone, Co. Kildare. Belan House was home to the Stratfords, earls of Aldborough. The
Stratfords came to Ireland in the seventeenth century and purchased Belan where they built
a mansion from the ruins of a Fitzgerald castle destroyed in 1641.
Harristown House was originally built in 1740 by one Whitmore Davis as the country seat of
the La Touche family. For more than 150 years the late Georgian house stood undisturbed,
overlooking the Liffey and adjacent parklands. However in 1891, the home of Mr. and Mrs.
John La Touche was gutted by fire.
Newberry Hall, situated in the parish of Carbury, Co. Kildare, was built in the 1760s for
Arthur Pomeroy. It is a Palladian style house of red brick with stone facings, and its
design is attributed to amateur architect Nathaniel Clements.
Russborough House in Blessington, is situated near the borders of counties Kildare and
Wicklow. Nestled in spectacular natural surrounding, there is no other Palladian house in
Ireland to rival it aesthetically or architecturally. It was designed by the renowned
German architect, Richard Castles.
Castletown House, Celbridge, was built in 1722 for Speaker William Connolly,
the speaker of the Irish House of Commons from 1715. It was designed by the famous Italian
architect Alessandro Galilei (1691-1737), and it remains the only house in Ireland
designed by him.
Oakley Park, formerly Celbridge House, was built in 1724 by Arthur Price when he was vicar
of Celbridge. The house is thought to have been designed by the architect Thomas Burgh.
Millicent House, situated in Clane, was the residence of Richard Griffith after he retired
from trading in the East Indies in 1786. He is especially famous for his Geological Map of
Ireland and his Valuation of Rateable Property in Ireland, more commonly known as
Situated in Donadea, Co. Kildare, Knockanally House is built in what is known as
Italianate style. It is two storeys in height. It has a three bay entrance and a superb
view from the beautiful central Venetian window which overlooks the gardens.
Kerdiffstown House is situated at Naas, Co. Kildare. It is a three-storey house and is
dated to the eighteenth century. It was originally owned by the Hendrick family. It was
then passed onto the Aylmer family through the marriage of Charlotte Hendrick to Michael
Aylmer in 1853.
Carton House is situated about one mile from Maynooth beside the Galway Road. This great
house is nestled among a most beautiful setting of trees and lawns. The Rye Water weaves
its way through the estate lands until it joins the river Liffey at Leixlip. The demesne
is surrounded by a five mile long wall and there are five lodge house dotted along the
Forenaughts House, situated in the district of Naas, is an early to mid-eighteenth
century house. It was home to the Wolfe family, among whose members was
Theobald Wolfe, godfather to Theobald Wolfe Tone.
The Market House, situated in Kildare town, dates from the early nineteenth century. It is
believed to have been built to replace an earlier and similar structure, as Kildare is
known to have been a market town as far back as the sixteenth century. This is confirmed
by John Rocques map of 1757 which shows a market house in the same location.
Historic Buildings - Genealogy - Religious Sites - Famine - 1798 - Miscellaneous