Find, Request books and other items

librarys Banner
Readers' Pages
Default text size Large text size Extra large text size High contrast text

Sebastian Barry wins Costa Novel Award

Sebastian Barry has won the Costa Novel Award for the second time with Days Without End, set during the US civil war, which the judges called “a miracle of a book”.

Dublin-based author Brian Conaghan won the Children’s Book Award for The Bombs That Brought Us Together, while Keggie Carew won the Biography Award for Dadland, the story of her 10-year race to unravel the truth about her Irish father’s past as he slips into dementia.

Francis Spufford won the First Novel Award for Golden Hill, set in 18th-century New York, and Alice Oswald collected the Poetry Award for Falling Awake.

The authors, who each win £5,000, now compete for the 2016 Costa Book of the Year, worth £30,000, which will be announced on January 31st. Last year’s winner was The Lie Tree by Francis Hardinge. The awards, known as the Whitbread from 1971 to 2006, are the only major book prize open solely to authors resident in Britain and Ireland.


Back to other News Items