Kilcock Celtic 3 Newbridge Town 0 U16s

Kilcock Celtic 3 Newbridge Town 0
14 April 2010
Celtic welcomed the league leaders to Scoil Dara on Wednesday night.
Kilcock started the better of the two teams and had numerous chances in the first five minutes. (see Match Reports)

Newbridge’s keeper Sean Higgins was off his line to make a quick save from Eoin McArdle as he latched onto a long ball into the goal area.
In the twentieth minute Ian Mooney broke into the box and his shot was tipped over for a corner. From the resulting corner Dully shot cleared the crossbar.
The visitors came more into the game in the latter stages of the first period. Michael Dunne had a shot from twenty yards scrap past the right post.  Marcus Byrne and David Byrne were dominant in midfield for Newbridge and Celtic had to survive sustained pressure in the latter stages of the first half.  Dafydd Jones and Dane Hoban were in top form as they dealt with the visitor’s pressure.
However Kilcock always looked dangerous on the break and in the last few minutes Diarmuid Ryan found Leon Glennon on the edge of the box and his volley produced a fine save from the visitor’s keeper. From the resulting corner Shaun Maguire’s header was cleared off the line.
After the interval Kilcock went ahead in the first minute. Anto Forde got on the end of a cross from Eoin McArdle and slotted his header low into the net.
Five minutes later Ryan O’Connell broke into the box and rounded two defenders before sliding the ball past the diving keeper to give the home team a two-goal advantage. Newbridge threw everything into attack but were unable to breakdown a solid home defence.
The game continued in this fashion with Newbridge attacking and Celtic hitting on the counter attack.
With ten minutes remaining Niall Walker intercepted a poor Newbridge clearance and found Leon Glennon. Glennon made sure of the points for Kilcock when he capitalized on an error in Town’s defence and raced past the keeper and dispatched the ball into the net.
Best for Newbridge were Barry Molloy and Danny O’Rourke while Eoin McArdle and Shaun Maguire preformed well for Celtic.
Kilcock Celtic: Greg Murphy, Dane Hoban, Dafydd Jones, Shaun Maguire, Adam Leonard, Ian Mooney, Leon Glennon, Ryan O’Connell, Conor Dully, Eoin McArdle, Diarmuid Ryan, Anthony Forde, Neil Maguire, Niall Walker, Evan Comerford, Cian McIntyre.

by raydully on April 20, 2010 ·

Previous post:

Next post: