Find, Request books and other items

librarys Banner
Kildare Collections
and Research Services
Default text size Large text size Extra large text size High contrast text

Local Studies

Index of Townlands of County Kildare

Introduction | Search Page | Browse | The Data Explained

Geographical Divisions in Ireland

COUNTRY – Ireland

PROVINCE – Largest Territorial division within Ireland – Co. Kildare is in Leinster

DIOCESE – Largest Religious Divisions within Ireland.

  • R.C Dioceses – Co. Kildare is mostly within Diocese of Kildare and Leighlin and the Diocese of Dublin and Glendalough
  • Church of Ireland – Diocese of Meath and Kildare and Diocese of Dublin

COUNTY – Kildare; there are 32 counties on the island of Ireland

BARONIES – Medieval (‘Barons’) territorial subdivision – 14 in Co. Kildare

CIVIL PARISHES – Roughly equivalent to Church of Ireland Parishes (some Church of Ireland Parishes may constitute several civil parishes). There are some 110 Civil Parishes in Co. Kildare today but there are three extra – Ballybought, Coghlanstown and Jago - in the database that were later merged with the Parish of Ballymore Eustace. – Total in database 113.

TOWNLAND – 1,277 (including towns) in this database. The smallest ‘local’ territorial unit. See note about Townlands