Seniors win CUP

Kilcock Celtic 1   Bush Celtic 0

Kilcock Celtic won the cup on Sunday afternoon last, for the first time in their history in a close and exciting game played in Straffan. read on in Match Reports

Republic of Ireland Supporters Cup Final
Sunday October 24 2010
Venue  Lodge Park Straffan  KO  2.00pm

In the first half of this game Kilcock created more chances than Bush but failed to convert.
Brendan Brady had a good effort after ten minutes but it was well saved by the bush keeper. Soon after Eoin Moriarity forced another fine save from Bush’s keeper.

Bush did create a number or chances and the best fell just before the break but the shot was welled saved by
Kilcock keeper Alec Leckey.

In the second half the deadlock remained until the eighty first minute when after some neat build up,  Kilcock’s Gavin Dalton hit a twenty yard shot to the back of the bush net to put Kilcock 1-0  in front.

Kilcock were unlucky not to increase their lead in the last few minutes when an Eoin Moriarty shot was again well saved by the bush keeper.

Best for Kilcock were right back David Bryne, centre-field David O’Hanlon and forwards Brendan Brady and Eoin Moriarity, Kilcock’s keeper Alec Leckey also gave a very good performance.

Kilcock Celtic manager Michael Montague spoke to the Kilcock Celtic website after after the game:
“This was a tough game for us. We now have got something for all our efforts this season. We have finished the 2010 season as runners up in division 4 and are now crowned cup winners. I would like to pay tribute to all the lads and everyone involved in the team for their commitment and effort this season”

Kilcock team: Alec Leckey, David Byrne, Dennis Glesson, Paul Doran, Darren Gavin, Alan O’Brien, David O’ Hanlon, Chris O’Meara, Lorcan Fagan, Brendan Brady, Eoin Moriarty, Gavin Dalton, Stephen Byrne, Keith Gill, David Staunton & James Twohig.

by raydully on October 26, 2010 ·

Previous post:

Next post: