by ehistoryadmin on July 28, 2023

Leinster Leader 25 October 1924

Burgesses of Athy

We give a list of tenancies of Burgesses of Athy on the dates they were elected. If any reader remembers those names we will be glad to make his acquaintance: – Sir Kildare Dixon Burrowes, Bart (1754); Arthur Pomeroy, Esq. (1760); Jas. Spencer (1760); William Burgh, Esq. (1760); Peter Bere (1761); George Daker (1768); the Rev. Dive Downes (1769); George Chapman (1775); the Rev. Anthony Weldon (1778); B. Southwell (1780). The first Sovereign of Athy, was an Earl of Kildare, and the last was the Rev. Fredk. S. Trench, of Kilmaroney.

Note: Burgess was a British title used in the medieval and early modern period to designate someone of the burgher (social) class from which municipality officials could be drawn.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: